I have been in a blogging slump lately. I have not posted for over two weeks. I just haven’t had anything to share. The most inspirational thing I can provide you with today is this photograph of my dog.

Why? I’ve been in an art slump, too. As soon as one project ends and before I begin the next, I face the inevitable slump. The next project or piece is exciting, I am entering new territory, and…I’m terrified. That first brush stroke on the painting is a commitment, and once I begin, there is no turning back. It is much, much easier to hide from that commitment than to embrace it. That’s right where I am, caught between my excitement to start a new body of work and my fear that I will ruin it. It takes a lot of motivation to work up the momentum to get over this hill. Any suggestions?

