Four days into 2011, I am a bit late in wrapping up my thoughts on the previous year, but I still think it a worthy exercise. So here we go.

In October of 2010, I ran a marathon with my mom (yes, she is awesome). To put it simply, that was hard. It was also really great. When I think back on the past year in my artist’s life, I feel pretty similar to the way I felt that day in October. Of course it took everything I had physically to finish that race, but I ran across that finish line (very slowly) due to the passion and drive that kept me going. The same is true for my pursuit of art.

2010 was a big and full year for my art career, and at the end I look back in amazement. I see endless days (and nights) in the studio scrambling to meet deadlines. I see frustration over my inability to execute what is in my mind. I see promises and opportunities failing to materialize. I see hours and hours of work with no payoff. And it is so worth it. Because I also look back and see how far I have come since January 2010. In the past year I have moved into a studio at the Harrison Center, shown my work in four gallery shows, participated in countless Open Studios and art fair events, had the pleasure of discussing and sharing my art with Indiana art patrons, and received the 2011 Beckman Emerging Artist Fellowship Award from the Arts Council of Indianapolis. I would say it was a good year. So, just like after finishing the marathon, at the end of 2010, this is how I can sum up my feelings:

The effort was exhausting, but I’m not tired. I’m ready for more.

Tomorrow I will be back to share my goals and dreams for 2011. Happy New Year to you!

