Sandcastles, 11″ x 14″ encaustic on wood

At long last, I have photos of my “home” themed work from the “Homeward Bound” show at the Harrison Center.

Leaves, 9″ x 12″ encaustic on wood

I have been kind of obsessed with the concept of home—who or what defines it, how its definition changes over time, and the ways we construct our identities around places and experiences—since I was a teenager. I decided to make a piece for each place and time period that has been a home for me. As I reflected on these places I have lived and people I have known, I found it so interesting to remember the identities I wore at those times, identities that aren’t me anymore but that are still a part of me in some way. It’s like those childhood stories your family tells over and over, year after year; eventually you come to remember the telling of the story more clearly than the event itself. Over time, these defining moments become memories of memories, and yet they are still so important to who we are. The ideas of memories of memories, changing identities, and finding home are the themes I explored in this body of work.

Poetry, 9″ x 12″ encaustic on wood

These pieces are the most personal work I have ever made. I am still learning in my artwork how to make work that is meaningful and authentic to me as an artist but is not so personal that it alienates the viewer. I want to put my story into my art, but does that keep someone else from seeing his or her own story in it? I am still looking for that balance, but for now I am simply making art that is true to me and trying not to hold back too much.

Itadakimasu, 9″ x 12″ encaustic on wood

This piece was made for the home I built the year I studied abroad in Japan. As a vegetarian, it was difficult to eat in Japan, but my host mom made sure that every recipe was adapted to leave out the things I couldn’t eat. I know how much trouble she went to for me every day, and this special effort made me feel at home and a part of the family. When I sat down to dinner each night with my host family, it was a safe and comfortable place. The text on the rice bowl comes from the letter she gave me the day I left, and the title Itadakimasu is the word every Japanese person says before eating as an expression of gratitude for the meal.

Plaid, 9″ x 12″ encaustic on wood

This work is definitely indicative of the direction my art is taking: sculptural, 3D, textured. I played around with new techniques (molding and casting), and I am really excited about the possibilities of bringing my love of wax to my love of sculptural work.

Thanks for reading. :)

