This weekend I was finally in town for First Friday here in Indianapolis, so I made sure to attend the Food Con event at the Harrison Center. It was a convention of sorts, combining art and food as well as other activities. Slow food, organic food, local food–you name it, and it was represented (my favorite being chocolate food). It was a great event full of local resources and tasty food samples.

The star of the show for me was, of course, the art, and of the work represented all over the building, there was one standout: Bruce Campbell. His work took the concept well beyond painting images of food. The following piece was one of my favorites, Levitating Pumpkin.

His work also stretched beyond the traditional painting surface, in more ways than one.

I apologize for being unable to recall the title of this diptych (image from Harrison Center’s flickr). Many of his paintings were on these magnificent shaped canvases. You can see more examples at his website here. This particular piece had several mixed media elements, making it quite sculptural. This piece really impressed me in person; I would even go so far as to say it knocked my socks off. I have already gone back to gaze at it since.

I hope you get a chance to check out the show at the Harrison Center, which is up for the rest of the month. You can see more of the artwork represented here.

