It’s time for some honesty. Lately, I have been a Negative Nancy, a Debbie Downer, a… Pessimistic Pollyanna, if you will. (No offense is intended to anyone with these lovely names; I’m sure you’re all cheery people.) Just yesterday, a friend who I had not seen for a couple months asked me how my art career was going. My reply was preceded by a long sigh and contained numerous versions of the statement, “it’s hard.”

I really have no excuse for this. Despite the fact that I am loving what I do, growing as an artist and person, selling more than I expected, and gaining new experiences and opportunities, all I can focus on is the one dreaded truth of an this emerging artist: I’m not making money. Everything else is going my way, and I am lucky enough to seek my passion daily, but I am choosing to base my perspective entirely around one negative aspect. A friend reminded me of this very apt quote:

“When bankers get together for dinner, they discuss art. When artists get together for dinner, they discuss money.” – Oscar Wilde

Well, no more!

It’s like February. No one likes February, right? It’s cold (here in the frigid North of the United States) and grey, and winter seems to stretch on with no end in sight. I usually dread it. But actually, some pretty neat things have happened so far this month: my nephew turned one, the Winter Olympics are endlessly entertaining, and today the sun is shining so bright I can’t not take a walk. As with everything in life, it’s all a matter of perspective.

Here’s to a sunnier outlook and a refusal to overlook the important stuff. Have a great weekend!

