Have you been watching the Winter Olympics?

I was fortunate enough to visit the Richmond Olympic Oval on my recent trip to Vancouver last fall. The building is simply gorgeous in person, and I was happy to learn of their sustainable building efforts, such as using salvaged wood for the ceiling and reusing the rainwater that collects on the roof. But what struck me most were these beautiful outdoor sculptures, giant red nets that recall the fishing culture of the area.

You can see in the background that the landscapers were still working on the grounds.

I have since learned that these nets are flexible and are meant to change shape with the wind. The site was designed by sculptor and installation artist Janet Echelman. You will be doing your brain a happy favor to visit her website to see the amazing photos of her work (much better than those I snapped here!).

I would love to visit again now that the landscaping is complete and especially now that it’s filled with Olympic athletes. Team USA! :)

