Well, I said January was off to a slow start, but now, all of a sudden, I am extremely busy. I have at long last hunkered down, preparing myself to enter some international juried shows, hang work in some new spaces, and work on a secret project (!). Needless to say, the weeks of ennui-induced unproductivity are behind me.

Would you like to see what I have been working so hard on? Here is a (finally!) completed 18″ x 18″ encaustic piece.

It could happen. 18″ x 18″ encaustic, string on wood

This is one that really improves upon closer inspection. The meaning is all in the details. (Yes, each of those words was an individual image transfer. I’m guessing the total is somewhere upwards of 300.) Let us take a closer look.

Can you see the last word on the balloon?

Though it is still a relatively small painting, this is one of the larger pieces I have completed in recent months. I enjoy the challenges, which are many, for sure, of working larger in encaustic.

