I’m not going to lie—January has been a slow start for me, creatively. With all the activity of the New Year, I have allowed myself to find excuses not to create. This is an easy and dangerous trap for an artist to fall into, made worse by my tendency to live in my mind (and not reality). But not to worry! This problem, which I have come to accept as part of the natural cycle of an artist’s (or at very least, this one’s) life, has already been remedied! I look forward to sharing the fruits of my newfound industriousness very soon.

In the meantime, let me share something only slightly related. I have held true to one goal I set this year: copious amounts of reading! Extensive time indulging in the splendor of the written word! In collecting books for this reading project, which are mostly classics that have been printed numerous times with various covers, I have been intrigued by the different ways these timeless stories have been interpreted into the design of their book covers.

If you haven’t yet discovered the Book Cover Archive, I suggest you take a look. You can peruse through 1000+ well-designed and inviting book covers. They recently added a “randomize” button, which inevitably creates wonderful little collections. Here are a few favorites:

I will stop there before I overload you. The Book Cover Archive also has a great blog. Enjoy, and have a great weekend.

