(My festive DIY curtain, made from a removable felt design that I can change throughout the year.)

Well, the holidays are officially over, and so end the days full of cookies, board games, and laughing until 3am. It was fun while it lasted, but I am really looking forward to this year. 2009 was an amazing year for me (I left my income-producing job to become a full-time artist!), and I am sure 2010 will hold even bigger things. Here are a few goals I will be working toward this year:

  • Show, show, show. I want to show my work around the Indianapolis area in coffee shops, work spaces, galleries, you name it. If you have any ideas for locations, let me know!
  • Push. Hard. It is so easy to get caught in a rut, stuck with what is comfortable, what is easy, what sells. This year I want to push myself as an artist to continue to create authentic and meaningful work, as well as challenge myself to work larger, in both content and physical size.
  • Think like a balloon. Expand. As much I love encaustic, I hope not to limit myself to one medium, but instead to push the boundaries that narrowing in on one art form can create. In 2010 I will focus more of my art-making time on other media I love, like photography, sculpture, and textiles.
  • Oh, and a sponge, too. In addition to looking at art every day, this year I have a goal of reading one book (each by a different author) and watching one film (one from each year leading up to 2009) every week. I am hoping to catch up on all the classics and immerse myself in as many art forms as I possibly can in 2010.

I hope your new year has gotten off to a great start. Thanks for joining in with my adventures in art so far. I look forward to sharing whatever messes I’ll get into next.

