I think it started when I moved out of my parents’ house at the age of sixteen. Ever since then, I have always been fascinated and perplexed by the concept of home. Each stage in life, each relationship built further complicated my understanding of the idea. For years I have been collecting songs on this theme. I’m sure you can imagine the questions that thinking about home and its meaning can provoke.

home

The question of home is very meaningful to me and is obviously an important concept to explore artistically… and this week I finally got the courage. These two pieces are part of a set of four, which are the first of what I’m sure will be many paintings on this theme. (With the rain this week it has been impossible to take a proper photo of anything indoors, so I apologize for the bad picture.)

While I’m on the topic of home, I’ll share a neat contest that asks participants to explore the concept with image and text. Check it out here.

