One of the most difficult things about being an artist, for me, is pricing artwork. If my work resonates with someone enough that they want to buy it, I wish I could just give it away! But of course, I can’t do that (and still eat, anyway). So in deciding on prices, I want to maintain a fine balance between accessibility and not undervaluing my hard work. (More on this topic another time.)

new frames

One great thing that can keep my artwork affordable is cutting back on the cost of materials. This weekend, thanks to my generous and very talented father, I was able to do that by creating handmade float frames.

new frame2

They still need to be sanded and finished, but I just couldn’t resist showing off one of these beauties. What would normally double the cost of this piece was made for free. Thanks, Dad!

