Maybe it was the handful of chocolate-covered espresso beans I had before bed, maybe not, but for whatever reason, one night last week, as I lay in bed at 1:00 am, I found I could not sleep for all the ideas buzzing around in my head.

My husband works from 8 to 5 each day, and it would be really nice if my art-making fit neatly into those hours. But, as a friend told me yesterday, “the muse doesn’t care about your schedule.” So, not being one to toss inspiration aside, I climbed out of bed, and tried to put some of those ideas down in the wax. When I fell asleep three hours later, I had one more painting to add to the collection of pieces I will never show another soul (aside from my husband). However, my nighttime adventure did give me an idea for this painting:

maybe if i tie my dreams down

Maybe if I tie down my dreams, they won’t get away, 8″ x 10″, encaustic on wood

This painting may not be my strongest work, but it has given me an idea for another piece. So, someday we’ll see where that early morning inspiration finally lands me. Wherever that is, it has been fun getting there.

