The past few days in the studio have produced very little aside from failed experiments and frustrating dead-ends. This, however, is not a bad thing! It is all working toward something, sharpening my skills, developing my eye. It does mean that I have very little to share.

I tend to work on a few pieces at once, and at the moment, they are all in varying states of “progress,” so I don’t have any finished pieces to show. I have begun a new series of paintings, all on tiny 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ pieces of hardboard. Here is a sneak peek at some in-progress pieces from this new series, each with a tiny window carved out of the wax.

windows in progress

You can see that my workspace is very messy. It comes from not having nearly as much room as I would like in order to spread out. (Oh, who am I kidding–I am perpetually untidy.)

I am looking forward to discovering where these pieces go, seeing what windows of insight they bring.

