Logic, ice sculpture by Nicole Dextras

Nicole Dextras creates large-scale typographical ice sculpture installations as commentary on various settings and environments. I like this one in particular, juxtaposing the word “logic” with the stump of what was surely once a breathtaking tree.

After stumbling upon this artwork this morning, I realized how little work and inspiration I have shared on this site in the past few months. I apologize for my silence. 2011 was a big year: I embarked on my first artist residency, exhibited two solo shows, and fulfilled my duties as the 2011 Emerging Artist Fellow. And in news that most likely explains the bulk of the reason for my lack of posts recently, I have spent much of 2011 preparing mind, heart, and body for the welcoming of my first child in about a month. 2012 is bound to be another amazing year, both personally and for my artwork. I cannot wait to see how this new stage of life manifests itself creatively. Thanks for sticking with me, and look for more soon!

